At times the urge to say something becomes so overwhelming that it triumphs over our desire for privacy. I never got the knack of social media, I am not good at taking pictures or posing for them, I don’t like insignificant social media updates that only reflect ‘who you want to be’ and not ‘who you are’.

There is a constant struggle to appear wealthy, fit, knowledgeable, eloquent, adventurous, and beautiful. All these base temptations end up obscuring our real personalities. We start seeing every life event, every meal and every road trip as a Instagram picture or a snapchat story. And in trying to get the perfect shot, we forget the raw pleasure of having a good time, the sheer joy of being who we are without conforming to any virtual standard of being ‘Cool’.

I wanted to create a place where I could share my thoughts, emotions, ideas and experiences without adulterating them with any such consideration.

I’ll try to make it a nice little nook where I’ll connect with the outer world, not as Abubakar Mehdi, but as a lone voice seeking a compassionate ear.

2 comments

  1. Very very relatable. I can already tell this is going to be one of my favourite blogs. They are a wonderful space for cathartic and unrestrained expression. In the past I found my old one a useful way of keeping sane 🙂 The great thing is that you will often blog thoughts which you assume to be unique to your own tumultuous, misfit mind, and then find there are many out there who are feeling much the same way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. And yes, James Baldwin once said that the great beauty of literature is that it shows us that we are not alone, that our sufferings are universal.
      And congratulations on being the first ever follower of thusspakeabubakar. Smart choice… lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

